Develop, support, promote disability leaders

2020 National Awards Categories


Nominations for 2020 have now closed!


National Awards Categories

These Awards reflect what is important to disabled people and the ways that we are effecting change and pursuing equality for our community. They recognise outstanding achievements by individuals, or disabled people’s organisations, who have significantly contributed to advancing the status of disabled people.

In 2020 the Awards are focussing on the work done by disabled people and our organisations to support the Australian disability community through several challenging events including the pandemic, and bushfires and other natural disasters. We want to know what work has been done by disability leaders in these difficult times to advance equality for disabled people, and to protect and promote our rights in rapidly changing situations.

Disability leaders will be acknowledged across seven categories reflecting the diversity of our community, and the intersectional* nature of our lives in:

      1. The Arts – advancing the status of disabled people through artistic expression.
      1. Change Making – achieving greater equality for disabled people by changing policy, programs, or legislation.
      1. Rights Activism – advancing the status of disabled people by using human rights mechanisms, including the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.
      1. Innovation – achieving outcomes to the status of disabled people by working outside the box, developing new systems, technology or tools.
      1. Social Impact – achieve visibility of disabled people by using mainstream or social media, or other digital interfaces.
      1. Inclusion – illustrating the intersectional diversity of disabled people by designing processes, systems or programs.
      1. The Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement – awarded to an individual who has shown commitment to the disability rights movement and worked over time to achieve significant outcomes for disabled people.


*intersectional means being disabled alongside one or more of the following: gender, LGBTIQ, Indigenous, culturally or linguistically diverse, or young.

Individual Awards will not be distributed unless there are suitable nominees to receive them.

To nominate for more than one category, complete a separate nomination form for each entry.

Proudly sponsored in 2020 by:

#DisabilityAwards2020 brought to you by:

DLI logoDPOA logo